The Museum Building at No 1 Trang Tien Street (the Former National Museum of Vietnamese History) was originally the Louis Finot Museum, constructed in 1929 and inaugurated in 1932. The Museum building was designed as a major landmark of great architectural distinction, combining Eastern architectural elements in harmonious fusion with Western aesthetic features. In its original form, the Museum was a major showcase of Eastern Arts, including archaeological, ethnological, and fine art collections from Vietnam and other Asian countries. In 1958, the Vietnamese government took over this important cultural foundation. It took five months of preparation and transformation to change the displays from what had been a broad overview of Asian Arts and artifacts to a sequence of displays on the rich story of Vietnam’s cultural life and development from the prehistoric period to the end of the Nguyen Dynasty in 1945.